Wednesday, 4 January 2012

Buyers Guide to Export Compliance

When working out what compliance procedures to follow it is important to understand what it is that is being exported. Goods being exported are split into two categories when it comes to export controls, Military and Dual Use.

Any goods designed for military purposes is subject to export controls while Dual Use goods are those which, although designed originally for commercial applications, can still be used in alternative military applications. The list for controlled Dual Use goods is split into ten categories:

Category 0 Nuclear Materials, Facilities and Equipment
Category 1 Special Materials and Related Equipment
Category 2 Materials Processing
Category 3 Electronics
Category 4 Computers
Category 5 Telecomms and Information Security
Category 6 Sensors and Lasers
Category 7 Navigation and Avionics
Category 8 Marine
Category 9 Aerospace and Propulsion

In deciding whether or not your goods may be considered as controlled, it is important to view the list and find the category that best describes the goods. Remember, the list does not list manufacturers names, part numbers or date codes. If you find that the lists describe your goods then you must view the specifications and characteristics to see if your goods are controlled. If they are, then an export licence is required.

If you are unsure, then you can request an assessment of your goods via the Control List Classification Advice Service available on the ECO's SPIRE export licensing database.

A PDF copy of the full list is available from the website for the department for business, innovation and skills. The link is here:

More information on applying for a licence and some helpful videos can be found here:

No comments:

Post a Comment